Riverside Park

After 2  and a half years in Maryland, 4 months in Indonesia, and 5 weeks in Ontario, I am back in New York, sleeping in a Morningside Heights dining room on a pull out couch.

Most days I spend alone hunting for apartments, writing in cafes, gazing out the window to watch the people shuffle by. I try to see myself there in the crowd where I hurried along for 6 years, try to remember New York and the years I spent with it. I do not often find myself: It’s a strange, floating feeling, the New York summertime with no real routine. For these couple of weeks, the only unfailing ritual in my life is walking the dog, morning and evening, through Riverside Park.

New York parks in the summertime can be a little insufferable if you’re feeling lonely. Couples line the benches of Washington Square, college girls splay out in groups on Union Square’s grass. On the streets, people move quickly, eyes trained on their destination as the sweat drips in beads down their backs. The parks are the afterthought to that destination, a place where to and from and how much and how fast are finally punctuated with a sigh. This is where New Yorkers lay themselves out.

But Riverside Park is different. Riverside Park, I’ve come to find, is the park of the solitary, the lonely. It’s where the marginal and forgotten come to feel the sun on their shoulders: The old Jewish lady in horn-rimmed glasses, reading cheap paperbacks at the entrance on 111th street. The black nanny looking tired and a little lost as she rocks a blond-ringleted child in her lap. The man with skinny legs and Birkenstocks who comes to watch the sun set over the Hudson every night.

And there are of course certain types, a changing cast of characters who fit the bill: The pretty, single 30-something sitting on the grass with her dog. The hustler disguised as a business man, his suit jacket hanging from the corner of a bench. The girl in a summer dress standing against the cement barrior between herself and the river below, collecting the things in her purse, collecting herself.

And that’s the difference: New Yorkers don’t come here to splay out but to regroup. They come here to collect their worries and gather them up like stones before returning to the harried streets. This is where they piece together the parts of themselves that have been fragmented by the city’s crowds. And for those who never go down those streets anymore, whose routines are confined to a few blocks surrounding their pre-war, rent-stabilized apartments, this, too, I think, is a place where they come to put themselves back together, to give their lives a discernible shape.

I would be lying if I said I weren’t one of these people, at least for a little while. In the morning, I turn my bed back into a couch, pull on a pair of shorts too big for me, and walk into the day, sleepy-eyed and unshowered. My head is still fuzzy, but my dog and his leash keep me tethered to the ground.  In the evenings, I return, the sky turning pink, the light slanting against the avenue’s buildings. In the quiet, my dogs’ nails hit the pavement as a mournful saxophone comes from somewhere on Broadway. I am alone with the rest of them, and for a moment, I am home again.

Share

3 Responses to “Riverside Park”


  1. 1 Candice July 27, 2010 at 2:10 am

    Girl, do I ever hear you on the “not having a routine” thing. But I love the portrait you’ve painted of Riverside Park, I wish I had experienced it myself.

  2. 2 Julie July 27, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    1. Does this mean that you are definitely doing the journo program at Columbia??
    2. I’d love to get together! I live in Long Island City, but am in Manhattan several times a week.

  3. 3 simonemarie July 27, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Julie-

    1. Yes yes! I’ve been meaning to write a post about it, but just got swept up in other things. So I think I’ll write about my first day/week to unveil my decision. I’m really excited!

    2. Yes yes again! Would definitely love to meet up soon. Somewhere, I have written down: email Julie. Things are a little wonky until I get settled come the first week of August, but let’s figure something out.


Leave a Reply

About Simone Gorrindo

Simone Gorrindo is a freelance journalist, poet, and travel writer who can't stay put.

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

BlogBurst.com

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

